Volta Ciclista a Catalunya: Pierre Latour 3rd in the final classification - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Volta Ciclista a Catalunya: Pierre Latour 3rd in the final classification

PIERRE LATOUR : “I WAS AIMING FOR A TOP TEN"

“The last stage was very hectic. Unfortunately, we lost Clément Chevrier who broke his collarbone. On the final circuit of Montjuic, the guys still put in a huge effort to cut the gap to the break. In the end, with the crash that Bernal suffered, I finish on the final podium, equal in time with Yates. They separated us according to stage places. I am very happy with this first podium for me at a UCI WorldTour stage race. At the beginning, I was aiming for a place in the top ten. Of course, it gives me even more motivation for the future. I will be at the start of the Tour of the Basque Country (April 2-7) to help Alexis Vuillermoz and Romain Bardet, before heading to the Flèche Wallonne (April 18) and the Tour de Romandie (April 24-29) where I hope to be in the front again.”
Pierre Latour

OLIVER NAESEN : ""HAPPY TO STAY UPRIGHT ON THE BIKE"

"The race was very nervous. I'm glad I did not crash; the whole pack rubbed shoulders really aggressively. I was definitely looking forward to starting "the war" on the climbs. In the end, we came to the finish in a big pack of thirty vying for the victory. I was blocked 150 meters from the line, and had to scrub my momentum. In the end, given the conditions, I am rather satisfied with my sixth place. I have recovered well from the Record Bank E3 Harelbeke. And now followed that race with another high placing.”
OLIVER NAESEN

 

THE NUMBER

9

After the Volta a Catalunya and Gent Wevelgem, the AG2R LA MONDIALE team is 9th in the UCI WorldTour ranking with 1613 points. The highest ranked rider from the team is Oliver Naesen (17th), followed by Pierre Latour (23rd) and Romain Bardet (34th).

THE NEWS

Broken collarbone both for Peters and Chevrier

Nans Peters broke his right clavicle on Saturday at the Classic Loire Atlantique, and Clément Chevrier suffered the same injury but on his left side on Sunday at the Volta a Catalunya. More information on their condition and likely return to racing will be given in the coming days.

Volta Ciclista a Catalunya : Pierre Latour 3e du général - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Volta Ciclista a Catalunya : Pierre Latour 3e du général

PIERRE LATOUR : ""JE VISAIS UN TOP DIX""

"La dernière étape a été bien agitée. Malheureusement, nous avons perdu Clément Chevrier qui s’est cassé la clavicule. Sur le circuit final de Montjuic, les gars ont encore été énormes pour réduire l’écart. Au final, avec la chute de Bernal, je termine sur le podium final à égalité de temps avec Yates, nous avons été départagés aux places. Je suis super heureux de ce premier podium sur une course par étapes UCI WorldTour. A la base, je visais une place dans les dix. Forcément, ça donne encore plus de motivation pour la suite. Je vais être au départ du Tour du Pays Basque (2-7 avril) pour aider Alexis Vuillermoz et Romain Bardet, avant la Flèche Wallonne (18 avril) et le Tour de Romandie (24-29 avril) où j’espère à nouveau être à l’avant."
Pierre Latour

OLIVER NAESEN : ""HEUREUX D'ÊTRE RESTÉ SUR LE VÉLO""

"La course a été très nerveuse. Je suis content de ne pas être tombé, tout le peloton frottait vraiment fort. J’avais vraiment hâte de commencer "la guerre" dans les bosses. Au final, nous arrivons à une grosse trentaine pour la victoire. J’ai été enfermé à 150 mètres de la ligne et j’ai dû stopper son élan. Finalement, vu les conditions, je suis plutôt satisfait de ma sixième place. J’avais bien récupéré du Record Bank E3 Harelbeke. Maintenant, place à la suite."
OLIVER NAESEN

 

LE CHIFFRE

9

Après le Tour de Catalogne et Gent Wevelgem, l’équipe AG2R LA MONDIALE est 9e du classement UCI WorldTour avec 1613 points. Le mieux classé est Oliver Naesen (17e), suivent Pierre Latour (23e) et Romain Bardet (34e).

L'INFO

Fractures de la clavicule pour Peters et Chevrier

Nans Peters s'est fracturé la clavicule droite samedi à la Classic Loire Atlantique et Clément Chevrier a été victime de la même blessure mais côté gauche dimanche au Tour de Catalogne. Plus d'informations sur leur indisponibilité dans les prochains jours.