Tour de France - Romain Bardet will not take the start of the 14th stage - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Tour de France – Romain Bardet will not take the start of the 14th stage

Romain is suffering from a concussion the intensity of which he showed signs at the end of the stage, which necessitated that our medical team insist he undergo a brain scan at the Clermont Ferrand University Hospital, with the help of Dr. Mathieu Abott of AS Montferrand. The CET scan did not reveal and lesions. However, Romain Bardet must stop all his sporting activities for the moment, and he will therefore not be able to take part in the start of the stage tomorrow. His date for returning to competition will be defined “according to the evolution of his condition,” head doctor of the AG2R LA MONDIALE team, Dr. Eric Bouvat, explained.

ROMAIN BARDET: “Quite the opposite of what I expected”

“This stage on my home roads was the complete opposite of what I had hoped for. The crash was severe, downhill at high speed, and I struggled all the rest of the day.The medical examinations confirmed what I already suspected, and I am not able to continue in the race. I know that my teammates will give their best to finish the Tour de France with strong performances.»ROMAIN BARDET

VINCENT LAVENU : “He showed admirable courage”

«We are all sad to see Romain leaving us, near his home, on his roads, in a stage where he dreamed of shining. He once again showed admirable courage and fought like a lion to the end of the stage. We’ll fight even harder to honor him, with a polka dot jersey to defend and stage wins to earn. We send him all our support and hope he will come back even stronger very soon.»VINCENT LAVENU

Tour de France - Romain Bardet ne prendra pas le départ de la 14e étape - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Tour de France – Romain Bardet ne prendra pas le départ de la 14e étape

Victime d’une chute lors de la 13e étape du Tour de France, Romain Bardet ne prendra pas le départ de la 14e étape.
« Romain souffre d’une commotion cérébrale dont l’intensité et les signes qu’il présentait après l’étape ont nécessité que notre équipe médicale lui fasse passer un scanner cérébral au CHU de Clermont-Ferrand, avec l’aide du docteur Mathieu Abbot de l’AS Montferrand, Cet examen n’a pas révélé de lésion. Il est cependant nécessaire que Romain Bardet stoppe ses activités sportives et il ne pourra donc pas reprendre le départ de l’étape demain. Sa date de reprise de la compétition sera définie en fonction de l’évolution », dit le docteur Eric Bouvat, responsable médical de l’équipe AG2R LA MONDIALE.

ROMAIN BARDET: « J’ai lutté »

« « Cette étape sur mes routes a été tout le contraire de ce que j’espérais. La chute a été violente, en descente, et j’ai lutté toute la journée. Les examens médicaux ont confirmé ce que je pressentais et je ne suis pas en mesure de poursuivre la route. Je sais que mes équipiers vont donner le meilleur pour terminer le Tour de France en réussissant de belles performances. »ROMAIN BARDET

VINCENT LAVENU : « Un courage admirable »

« Nous sommes tous tristes de voir Romain nous quitter, chez lui, sur ses routes, dans une étape où il rêvait de briller. Il a montré, une fois de plus, un courage admirable et s’est battu comme un lion jusqu’au bout de l’étape. Nous allons lutter encore plus pour lui faire honneur, avec un maillot à pois à défendre et des victoires d’étapes à aller chercher. Nous lui souhaitons de revenir encore plus fort très rapidement.»VINCENT LAVENU