Tour de France (19th stage): Romain Bardet 3rd - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Tour de France (19th stage): Romain Bardet 3rd

ROMAIN BARDET : "I wanted to have fun"

3rd for the stage (+19 '')
7th in the GC (+ 5'15”)
"I did my best, and I believed in my chance for victory until the end. On the descent, facing Dumoulin and Roglic, who are pure rouleurs, I realized that there was nothing more I could do. This Tour de France never quite smiled on me; I don’t know what more I could have done. It's disappointing, but sometimes it's like that. I decided to go on the attack on the Tourmalet. I just wanted to have some fun. It was going to be this stage or never to go to the attack and try to make a big difference. In any case, I loved being a major player in the stage today.”
ROMAIN BARDET

PIERRE LATOUR :"Proud to wear this jersey"

17th for the stage (+ 4'31'')
13th in the GC (+ 20'21'')
"Romain was able to join Silvan on the Tourmalet. It was a hard day, but the legs were good. Romain didn’t let himself become discouraged, he proved his temperament, and his good form. I tried to manage myself for the ranking in the best young rider. Tomorrow, I really want to do a good time trial. I won’t be able to wear my French champions jersey, but I am proud to wear the best young rider jersey.”
PIERRE LATOUR

JULIEN JURDIE :"We can be proud"

"What a day it was! Certainly the most beautiful stage of the Tour de France. We can be proud of our leader, Romain Bardet, who laid all his panache and determination on the road through the Pyrenees. He definitely fought like a lion. It's frustrating to miss out on the stage win, but we have no regrets. And our second match was with Pierre Latour today. He lost only a few seconds to Bernal by the finish, so winning the white jersey looms. He is very motivated for the time trial tomorrow and wants to have fun.”
JULIEN JURDIE

THE NUMBER

5'47

In the classification for the best young, Pierre Latour is 5'47 '' ahead of the Colombian Egan Bernal.

THE NEWS

Training camp in the Jura

Mikael Cherel, Matteo Montaguti, Nans Peters, Julien Duval and François Bidard were in Prémanon in the Jura with the aim of preparing for the Vuelta and the other end of season races.
For two weeks, the group has accumulated 41 hours in the saddle, adding up to 1300 kilometers.

Tour de France (19e étape) : Romain Bardet 3e de l'étape - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Tour de France (19e étape) : Romain Bardet 3e de l’étape

ROMAIN BARDET : « Je voulais prendre du plaisir »

3e de l’étape (+19’’)
7e général (+5’15’’)
« J’ai fait le maximum, j’ai cru à la victoire jusqu’au bout. Dans la descente face à Dumoulin et Roglic, des purs rouleurs, j’ai compris qu’il n’y avait rien à faire. Ce Tour de France n’a pas voulu sourire, je ne sais pas ce qu’il aurait fallu faire de plus. C’est décevant mais c’est comme ça. J’ai décidé d’être à l’attaque dès le Tourmalet, je voulais prendre du plaisir. C’était l’étape ou jamais pour partir à l’assaut et pour des grandes manœuvres. J’ai aimé être acteur aujourd’hui. »ROMAIN BARDET

PIERRE LATOUR : »Fier de porter ce maillot »

17e de l’étape (+4’31’’)
13e général (+20’21’’)
« C’était une dure journée, mais les jambes étaient bonnes. Romain n’est pas passé loin, il a prouvé son tempérament et son niveau de forme. J’ai essayé de gérer pour le classement du meilleur jeune. Demain, je veux faire un beau chrono. Je ne pourrais pas porter mon maillot de champion de France mais je suis fier de porter celui de meilleur jeune. »PIERRE LATOUR

JULIEN JURDIE : »Nous pouvons être fier »

Quelle jounée ! C’était certainement la plus belle étape du Tour de France.
Nous pouvons être fier de notre leader, Romain Bardet, qui a mis tout son panache et sa détermination sur la route des Pyrénées. Il s’est battu comme un lion ! Il y a de la frustration de passer à côté de la victoire, mais nous n’avons pas de regret. Notre deuxième match était avec Pierre Latour, il n’a perdu que quelques secondes sur Bernal, le maillot blanc se profile. Il est très motivé pour le chrono du demain avec l’envie de prendre du plaisir. »
JULIEN JURDIE

LE CHIFFRE

5’47

Au classement du meilleur jeune, Pierre Latour possède 5’47’’ d’avance sur le Colombien Egan Bernal.

L’INFO

Stage dans le Jura

Mikael Cherel, Matteo Montaguti, Nans Peters, Julien Duval et François Bidard étaient en stage à Prémanon (Jura) avec pour objectif de préparer la Vuelta a Espana et les courses de fin de saison. Durant deux semaines, le groupe a cumulé 41 heures pour 1300 kilomètres.