Romain Bardet will not participate in the French National Championships - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Romain Bardet will not participate in the French National Championships

After consultation among the general management, the technical staff and the rider himself, it has been decided that Romain Bardet will not line up at the start of the Championships in order to allow him to complete his preparation for the Tour de France (July 6th-28th). A total of 18 riders from the AG2R La Mondiale team will start the race for the national title.

Vincent Lavenu : "A coherent and wise decision"

“We made this decision with Romain and the staff by analyzing all the sporting, physical and emotional parameters that bind us to this race, which is a race we have always placed among our goals since the team's inception in 1992. But coming just 6 days before the Grand Départ, it was more sensible and wise to let Romain refine his preparation for the Tour de France, which is his main goal for the season. This way he can finish his important reconnaissance of the mountain stages. It was wiser to forego a race which will take place on a sinuous circuit where he could complete only few training outings that will allow him to be in the best condition at start line in Brussels. And that’s where the AG2R La Mondiale team of course has every intention to do its best to shine for French cycling.”VINCENT LAVENU

Romain Bardet : "A coherent and wise decision"

"I will not participate in the French Championships this year. I am very attached to French cycling and its values, but this decision has been taken in agreement with the management of the AG2R La Mondiale team, and is the most rational to make in view of my preparation for the Tour de France. I understand the importance for the organizers, the directors, and the public to have the best riders of our country take part in this event. I am very keen and take very seriously having the chance to participate in the events on the national calendar. The most recent example is my participation this week at the Ventoux Dénivelé Challenge. So too am I always honored and proud to wear and defend the French jersey every time that I am selected. Nevertheless, I have to take advantage of each day that brings me closer to the Tour de France by doing my final training sessions in the mountains. Unfortunately, the geographical distance and profile of the course for the 2019 French Championships would deprive me of these important preparation opportunities. My next racing rendezvous will be on the roads of Brussels and France starting on July 6th.”ROMAIN BARDET

Romain Bardet ne participera pas aux Championnats de France - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Romain Bardet ne participera pas aux Championnats de France

Romain Bardet ne participera pas aux Championnats de France de course en ligne, le 30 juin à la Haye-Fouassière. Après concertation entre la direction générale, le staff technique et le coureur, il a été décidé de ne pas l’aligner au départ de l’épreuve afin de lui permettre d’achever sa préparation pour le Tour de France (6-28 juillet). 18 coureurs de l’équipe AG2R La Mondiale seront au départ de la course au titre national.

Vincent Lavenu : "Une décision cohérente et sage"

"Nous avons pris cette décision avec Romain et le staff en analysant tous les paramètres sportifs, physiques mais aussi affectifs qui nous lient à une épreuve que nous avons toujours placé parmi nos objectifs depuis la création de l’équipe en 1992. A 6 jours jours du Grand Départ, il était plus cohérent et sage de laisser Romain peaufiner sa préparation en vue du Tour de France qui est son objectif principal et terminer les reconnaissances des étapes de montagne. Il était plus judicieux de faire l’impasse sur une course disputée sur un circuit sinueux sur lequel il ne pouvait nourrir que peu d’ambitions sportives afin d’être dans les meilleures dispositions au départ de Bruxelles où l’équipe AG2R La Mondiale a bien l’intention de faire briller une fois encore les couleurs du cyclisme français. »”VINCENT LAVENU

Romain Bardet : "Une décision rationnelle"

"Je ne participerai pas aux Championnats de France cette année. Je suis très attaché au cyclisme français et à ses valeurs mais cette décision prise en accord avec la direction de l'équipe AG2R La Mondiale est la plus rationnelle dans le cadre de ma préparation pour le Tour de France. Je comprends l’importance de la présence des meilleurs coureurs de notre pays pour les organisateurs, les dirigeants et le public. Je prends très à coeur de participer aux épreuves du calendrier national, comme ce fut encore le cas cette semaine au Ventoux Dénivelé Challenge, ou à défendre le maillot de l’équipe de France chaque fois que l’on me fait l’honneur de me sélectionner. Je dois profiter de chaque jour qui me rapproche du Tour de France en effectuant mes derniers entrainements en montagne et l'éloignement géographique et le profil du parcours des Championnats de France 2019 me priveraient de ces moments importants. Rendez-vous sur les routes de Bruxelles et de France à partir du 6 juillet. "ROMAIN BARDET