La Vuelta a Espana (October 20th - November 8th) - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

La Vuelta a Espana (October 20th – November 8th)

Stéphane Goubert presents us with the squad for the Vuelta a Espana.

STEPHANE GOUBERT: “Hunting stage wins”

“The AG2R La Mondiale team must be opportunistic at this Vuelta a Espana. We have created a united group. Helping each other will be essential to channel a strong collective and to seek victories. At times, it’ll be up to us to try things that may seem crazy to make a proper impact on this race. Risk-taking and a strong state of mind will be two important factors for a successful Grand Tour. Every day we will have to have a battle-ready mindset in order to go chasing stages and to achieve our goals.”STEPHANE GOUBERT

CLEMENT CHAMPOUSSIN

Born 29 May 1998,
22 years old
1st participation

Clément will race his first Grand Tour. This Vuelta will allow him to throw himself into the deep end, with the aim of slipping into the breakaways and playing a leading role on certain stages. We are going to see the extent of his talent and the different facets of this rider. He is certain to achieve great victories in the future.”

AXEL DOMONT

Born 7 August 1990, 30 years old
3rd participation
2nd in a stage of the Vuelta a Espana (2016)
1 victory

Axel is a very good cyclist and a very nice person. He will be keen to end his adventure with AG2R La Mondiale during this Vuelta by going for a big result. I know he is very motivated to be racing with the team and he remains ambitious to meet the final goals of this 2020 season.”

MATHIAS FRANK

Born 9 December 1986, 33 years old
4th participation
Winner of a stage of the Vuelta a Espana (2016)
7 victories

Originally scheduled for the Giro d’Italia, Mathias will compete in the Vuelta to perfect his physical condition which has not been optimal so far. It is important for him to accumulate racing days. He is keen to thrive within the team in order to find good sensations and also to seek a stage victory.”

ALEXANDRE GENIEZ

Born 16 March 1988, 32 years old
7th participation
3 stage victories at the Vuelta a Espana (2018, 2016, 2013)
15 victories

It’s a great satisfaction to see him again at a Grand Tour. He has had great success and great victories in this race (3 times the winner of stages). And in 2018, he earned himself a superb 11th place overall in the Giro d’Italia. When Alexandre has the determination, he’s a formidable rider when going for the win in a breakaway.”

DORIAN GODON

Born 25 May 1996, 24 years old
2nd participation
3rd in a stage of the Vuelta a Espana (2019)
3 victoires

Dorian gave us great joy last year in the Vuelta a Espana with a 3rd place in the 6th stage. Now he has to aim higher to win. It’s up to him to be aggressive like he was this year at Paris-Camembert (victory). Dorian has a very good mindset to complete the objectives with flying colors.”

QUENTIN JAUREGUI

Born 22 April 1994, 26 years old
3rd participation
1 victory

Quentin is a rider who has improved tremendously in recent years. He will once again participate in a Grand Tour, which will strengthen his physical potential and his good form at the moment. With his qualities, he can do great things. Like the rest of the team, his goal will be a stage victory.”

NANS PETERS

Born 12 March 1994, 26 years old
2nd participation
3rd in a stage of the Vuelta a Espana (2018)
Winner of stages at the Tour de France (2020) and the Giro d’Italia (2019)

La Vuelta a Espana will be his 2nd Grand Tour this year after taking a great stage victory in the Tour de France. It’s a great reward for a very motivated rider. Nans is important to the atmosphere of the group. And now he has a great challenge ahead of him: to get a stage win and thus score a stage victory in all three Grand Tours, all in less than a year and a half!”

HARRY TANFIELD

Born 17 November 1994, 25 years old
1st participation
1 victory

A last minute call-up, Harry has raced very little in 2020. He is extremely motivated and that can make the difference at the end of the season. He wants to show the extent of his talent as a rouleur, and it is up to him to seize the opportunities! He will be able to launch himself into the breakaways, fight for the win on each stage. The best is yet to come for this rider.”

THE NUMBER

1

Geoffrey Bouchard won last year's Vuelta a Espana King of the Mountains classification (2019), securing the jersey at the end of stage 16 to wear it all the way to Madrid.

La Vuelta a Espana (20 octobre - 8 novembre) - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

La Vuelta a Espana (20 octobre – 8 novembre)

Stéphane Goubert présente l’équipe qui s’alignera au départ de la Vuelta a Espana.

STEPHANE GOUBERT: « Chercher des victoires d’étape »

« L’équipe AG2R La Mondiale doit être opportuniste sur cette Vuelta a Espana. Nous avons créé un groupe solidaire. L’entraide sera primordiale pour sublimer un collectif fort et aller chercher des victoires. Par moment, à nous de tenter des choses qui peuvent paraitre dingues pour marquer les esprits et peser sur cette course. La prise de risque et l’état d’esprit seront deux facteurs importants pour réussir ce grand Tour. Il faudra avoir un mental de guerriers tous les jours pour aller chasser les étapes et décrocher des succès.STEPHANE GOUBERT

CLEMENT CHAMPOUSSIN

Né le 29 mai 1998,
22 ans
1 ère participation

Clément va découvrir son premier grand Tour. Cette Vuelta va lui permettre de se projeter dans le grand bain, avec comme objectif de se glisser dans les échappées et de jouer les premiers rôles sur certaines étapes. Nous allons voir l’étendue de son talent et les différentes facettes de ce coureur, qui est amené à remporter de grandes victoires dans le futur.

AXEL DOMONT

Né le 7 août 1990, 30 ans
3e participation
2e d’étape de la Vuelta a Espana (2016)
1 victoire

Axel est un très bon coureur, doublé d’une très belle personne. Il aura à cœur de terminer son aventure avec AG2R La Mondiale lors de cette Vuelta en allant chercher un résultat. Je le sais très motivé à l’idée d’être avec le groupe et il reste ambitieux pour relever les derniers objectifs de cette saison 2020.

MATHIAS FRANK

Né le 9 décembre 1986, 33 ans
4e participation
Vainqueur d’étape de la Vuelta a Espana (2016)
7 victoires

A l’origine prévu sur le Giro d’Italia, Mathias disputera la Vuelta pour parfaire sa condition physique qui n’a pas été optimale jusqu’à présent. Il est important pour lui d’accumuler des jours de courses. Il a à cœur de s’épanouir dans le collectif pour retrouver de bonnes sensations et d’aller chercher également une victoire d’étape. »

ALEXANDRE GENIEZ

Né le 16 mars 1988, 32 ans
7e participation
3 victoires d’étapes de la Vuelta a Espana (2018 ; 2016 ; 2013)
15 victoires

C’est une belle satisfaction de le revoir sur un grand Tour. Il a connu de grands succès et de belles victoires sur cette course (3 fois vainqueur d’étapes). En 2018, il va chercher une superbe 11e place au classement général du Giro d’Italia. Quand Alexandre a la détermination, c’est un coureur redoutable dans une échappée pour s’imposer. »

DORIAN GODON

Né le 25 mai 1996, 24 ans
2e participation
3e d’étape de la Vuelta a Espana (2019)
3 victoires

Dorian nous a procuré une belle émotion l’année passée sur la Vuelta a Espana avec une 3e place lors de la 6e étape. Il faut maintenant viser plus haut pour décrocher la victoire. A lui d’être offensif comme cette année sur Paris-Camembert (victoire). Dorian démontre un très bel état d’esprit pour remplir les objectifs avec brio. »

QUENTIN JAUREGUI

Né le 22 avril 1994, 26 ans
3e participation
1 victoire

Quentin est un coureur qui a énormément progressé au cours de ces dernières années. Il va une nouvelle fois participer à un grand Tour, cela va renforcer son potentiel physique et sa bonne forme du moment. Avec ses qualités, il peut faire de belles choses. Comme l’ensemble de l’équipe, l’objectif sera une victoire d’étape. »

NANS PETERS

Né le 12 mars 1994, 26 ans
2e participation
3e d’étape de la Vuelta a Espana (2018)
Vainqueur d’étapes sur le Tour de France (2020) et Giro d’Italia (2019)

La Vuelta a Espana sera son 2e grand Tour cette année après sa victoire d’étape sur le Tour de France. C’est une belle récompense pour un coureur très motivé. Nans a son importance dans la vie du groupe. Il a un beau challenge devant lui : aller chercher une étape et ainsi comptabiliser une victoire d’étape dans les trois grands Tours, le tout en moins d’un an et demi ! ».

HARRY TANFIELD

Né le 17 novembre 1994, 25 ans
1 ère participation
1 victoire

Invité de dernière minute, Harry a très peu couru en 2020. Il est extrêmement motivé et ça peut faire la différence en cette fin de saison. Il veut démontrer l’entendue de son talent de rouleur, à lui de saisir les opportunités ! Il pourra se lancer dans les échappées, se battre sur chaque étape, le meilleur est à venir pour ce coureur. »

LE CHIFFRE

1

Geoffrey Bouchard a remporté le classement de meilleur grimpeur de la Vuelta a Espana l’année passée (2019), en s’emparant du maillot à l’issue de la 16e étape pour le ramener jusqu’à Madrid.