Giro d'Italia (May 11 - June 2) - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Giro d’Italia (May 11 – June 2)

Laurent Biondi discusses the members of the AG2R LA MONDIALE team who will be at the start of the Giro d’Italia on May 11th in Bologne.

FRANCOIS BIDARD

Born on March 19th, 1992. 27 years old
Height / weight : 1m80 / 65 kg
Giro : 3rd participation
Best result : 37th (2018)
2019 season : 1 top ten

"François showed his affinity for the Italian races by finishing among the best at the Trofeo Laigueglia early this season. He has already participated in three Grand Tours, and has improved in the general classification each time. His climbing skills and his team spirit will make it possible for him to accompany our leaders in the mountains. He may also try his luck in breakaway over the course of the three weeks of racing.”

NICO DENZ

Born on February 15th, 1994.
25 years old
Height / weight : 1m83 / 71 kg
Giro : 2nd participation
Best result : 62th
2019 season : 1 top twenty

"Nico was a revelation last year having just missed out on a stage victory (2nd) at the Giro d'Italia. He has also demonstrated his ability to be present at the front during tricky stages. Racing the classics has given him the experience and confidence to bump elbows with the best of them in the peloton, and he will be a valuable asset in our efforts to protect our two leaders. After a good season in 2018, he should be able to confirm his potential this year.”

HUBERT DUPONT

Born on November 13th, 1980.
38 years old
Height / weight : 1m74 / 58 kg
Giro : 12th participation
Best result : 11e (2011-2016)
2019 season : 1 top ten

"At the Giro, Hubert will continue in the role that suits him perfectly: that of road captain. He will be starting the Giro for the twelfth time in his career.
At almost 39 years old, he know the Giro by heart and he likes the difficult courses. He is able to ride outside himself to help his leaders in the mountains.
He is an essential component in the organization of the team.”

TONY GALLOPIN

Born on May 24th, 1988. 30 years old.
Height / weight : 1m80 / 69 kg
Giro : 1st participation
2019 Season : 4 top ten

"Tony is getting ready to do his very first Giro in his 12 years of racing. Already a stage winner at the Tour de France (2014) and the Vuelta a Espana (2018), he now dreams of raising his arms in Italy. He is an experienced rider whose talent is well established. And he proved last year in Spain (11th) that he can also play a leading role in a three-week race. He will share the responsibilities at the head of the team with Alexis Vuillermoz.”

BEN GASTAUER

Born on November 14th, 1987.
31 years old.
Height / weight : 1m90 / 73 kg
Giro : 5th participation

“Ben Gastauer, is a great guy, and the team's quiet strength. At 31, he will start his 12th Grand Tour. He is able to race as our third man for the overall team standings, but he will also be very important on tough days. His experience, as well as his calm, are huge assets to ease three weeks of racing! He also has the means to win a stage.”

NANS PETERS

Born March 12th, 1994. 25 years old
Height / weight : 1m77 / 72 kg
Giro : 1st participation
2019 season : two top ten

"Nans should have been at the Giro last year, but an injury delayed his introduction to this Italian event. At last year’s Vuelta, his first Grand Tour, he showed great recovery abilities. He was racing at the front during the 11th stage where he finished in 4th place. He has a real team spirit but mixes that with an aggressive racing streak. He can hope for great things during this three weeks.”

ALEXIS VUILLERMOZ

Born on June, 1st, 1988. 30 years old
Height / weight: 1m74, 60 kg
Giro : 2nd participation
Best result : 11th (2014)
2019 season : 1 victory, 7 top ten

"Alexis wanted to change his program this season and return to the Giro, five years after his last participation (where he took 11th). After a victory in March at the Royale Bernard Drôme Classic, his progress was slowed by a crash at Tirreno Adriatico. But during the Tour des Alpes, he proved that he was not very far from his best form. His climbing skills and his recovery capacity over three weeks should allow him to demonstrate his strengths on the Italian roads and aim for a top ten, or even better. He will be the leader of our team over the next three weeks.”

LARRY WARBASSE

Born on June, 28th, 1990. 28 years old.
Height / weight : 1m83 / 67 kg
Giro : 2nd participation
2019 season : 1 top twenty

"Larry will be one of the road captains for our team at this Giro. He joined our squad over the winter, and has perfectly integrated with the group. He knows how difficult Grand Tours can be, and has proved his ability to be at the head of affairs on the most difficult stages. His stage victory at the Tour de Suisse in 2017 also shows that he can win UCI WorldTour events.”

VINCENT LAVENU

Vincent Lavenu :"A Top 10 and a stage victory"
“We are starting this Giro d'Italia with great ambitions. During their careers both Alexis Vuillermoz and Tony Gallopin have proved that they are able to take victories at Grand Tours. And Tony proved last year at the Vuelta a Espana that he also has the ability to race for the general classification in a three week event. He is a very professional racer, and I know he will be prepared for the toughest stages. In 2014, in his only participation in the Italian event, Alexis Vuillermoz made a strong impression (11th), while working for the team all along. In general, I want to see aggressive and uncomplicated racers taking on the 21 stages. I know that the entire team can achieve great things.”

THE NUMBER

231

After eleven participations in the Giro, Hubert Dupont has already completed 231 stages over the Italian roads. During his career, he has completed an incredible 21 Grand Tours (four Tour de France, five Vuelta, and eleven Giro).

Giro d'Italia (11 mai - 2 juin) - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Giro d’Italia (11 mai – 2 juin)

Laurent Biondi présente l’effectif qui sera au départ le 11 mai à Bologne

FRANCOIS BIDARD

Né le 19 mars 1992, 26 ans
Taille / poids : 1m80 / 65 kg
Giro : 3e participation
Meilleur résultat : 37e (2018)
Saison 2019 : 1 top dix

"François a montré son attachement aux épreuves italiennes en terminant parmi les meilleurs lors du Trofeo Laigueglia en début de saison. Il a déjà participé à trois reprises à des Grands Tours, en progressant au classement général à chaque fois. Ses qualités de grimpeur et son sens du collectif devraient lui permettre d’accompagner nos leaders dans la montagne. Il pourra également tenter sa chance en échappée au cours des trois semaines de course."

NICO DENZ

Né le 15 fevrier 1994, 24 ans
Taille / poids : 1m83 / 71 kg
Giro : 2ème participation
Saison 2019 : 1 top vingt

"Nico s’est révélé l’an passé en frôlant la victoire d’étape (2e) sur le Giro d’Italia. Il avait également démontré sa capacité à être présent à l’avant sur des étapes pièges. Les classiques lui ont permis d’acquérir de l’expérience lorsque ça frotte dans le peloton et il sera un atout précieux dans la protection des deux leaders de l’équipe. Après une belle saison 2018, il devrait confirmer cette année."

HUBERT DUPONT

Né le 13 novembre 1980, 37 ans
Taille / poids : 1m74 / 58 kg
Giro : 12e participation
Meilleur résultat : 11e (2011-2016)
Saison 2019 : 1 top dix

"Sur le Giro, Hubert va avoir le rôle qui lui convient parfaitement : celui de capitaine de route. Il va prendre le départ pour la douzième fois de sa carrière.
A presque 39 ans, il connait par cœur le Giro et affectionne les tracés difficiles. Il est capable de se transcender auprès de ses leaders dans la montagne. Il est un rouage essentiel dans l’organisation de l’équipe."

TONY GALLOPIN

Né le 24 mai 1988, 30 ans
Taille / poids : 1m80 / 69 kg
Giro : 1ère participation
Saison 2018 : 4 top dix

"Tony s’apprête à découvrir le Giro pour sa 12e saison professionnelle. Déjà vainqueur d’étape sur le Tour de France (2014) et sur la Vuelta a Espana (2018), il rêve désormais de lever les bras en Italie. C’est un coureur d’expérience dont le talent n’est plus à démontrer. Et il a prouvé l’an passé en Espagne (11e) qu’il pouvait également jouer les premiers rôles sur une course de trois semaines. Il partagera les responsabilités à la tête de l’équipe avec Alexis Vuillermoz.

BEN GASTAUER

Né le 14 novembre 1987, 31 ans
Taille / poids : 1m90 / 73 kg
Giro : 5ème participation

"Ben Gastauer, garçon attachant, est la force tranquille de l’équipe. A 31 ans, il va prendre le départ de son 12e Grand Tour. Il est capable de jouer notre troisième homme pour le classement général par équipes et il sera également très important lors des journées difficiles. Son expérience, mais aussi son calme, sont des atouts pour mener à bien une course de trois semaines ! Il a les moyens de remporter une étape."

NANS PETERS

Né le 12 mars 1994, 25 ans
Taille / poids : 1m77 / 72 kg
Giro : 1ère participation
Saison 2019 : 2 top dix

"Nans aurait dû découvrir le Giro l’an passé, mais une blessure a retardé sa découverte de l’épreuve italienne. Lors de la dernière Vuelta, son premier Grand Tour, il a montré de belles capacités de récupération. On l’avait notamment vu à l’avant lors de la 11e étape qu’il avait terminé à la 4e place. Il possède le sens du collectif avec un tempérament offensif. Il peut espérer de belles choses au cours de ces trois semaines."

ALEXIS VUILLERMOZ

Né le 1er juin 1988, 30 ans
Taille / poids : 1m74, 60 kg
Giro : 2e participation
Meilleur résultat : 11e (2014)
Saison 2019 : 1 victoire, 7 top dix

"Alexis a souhaité modifier son programme cette saison et revenir au Giro cinq ans après sa dernière participation (11e). Après une victoire en mars sur la Royale Bernard Drôme Classic, il a été ralenti dans sa progression par une chute lors de Tirreno Adriatico. Mais lors du Tour des Alpes, il a prouvé qu’il n’était plus très loin de sa meilleure forme. Ses qualités de grimpeur et ses capacités de récupération sur trois semaines devraient lui permettre de parfaitement s’exprimer sur les routes italiennes et envisager un top dix, voire mieux. Il sera le leader de notre équipe."

LARRY WARBASSE

Né le 28 juin 1990, 28 ans
Taille / poids : 1m83 / 67 kg
Giro : 2e participation
Saison 2019 : 1 top vingt

"Larry sera l’un des capitaines de route de notre équipe sur ce Giro. Arrivé dans notre effectif au cours de l’hiver, il a su parfaitement s’intégrer. Il connait la difficulté d’un Grand Tour et a montré qu’il pouvait être à l’avant sur des étapes difficiles. Sa victoire d’étape en montagne sur le Tour de Suisse 2017 montre également qu’il peut lever les bras sur des épreuves UCI WorldTour."

VINCENT LAVENU

Vincent Lavenu :"Un top dix et une victoire d’étape"
"Nous débutons ce Giro d’Italia avec de belles ambitions. Au cours de leur carrière, Alexis Vuillermoz et Tony Gallopin ont tous les deux montré qu’ils étaient capables de lever les bras sur un Grand Tour. Tony a prouvé l’an passé lors de la Vuelta a Espana qu’il pouvait jouer un classement général sur une épreuve de trois semaines. C’est un coureur très professionnel et je sais qu’il sera au rendez-vous. En 2014, pour son unique participation à l’épreuve italienne, Alexis Vuillermoz avait fait forte impression (11e) tout en travaillant pour le collectif. D’un point de vue global, j’ai envie de voir des coureurs offensifs et sans complexes au cours des 21 étapes. Je sais que nous pouvons réaliser de grandes choses."

LE CHIFFRE

231

Avec onze participations au Giro, Hubert Dupont a déjà parcouru 231 étapes sur les routes italiennes. Au cours de sa carrière, il a bouclé 21 Grands Tours (4 Tour de France, 5 Vuelta et 11 Giro).