Digital Swiss 5 Race Series (April 22-26) - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Digital Swiss 5 Race Series (April 22-26)

From April 22nd to 26th, the AG2R LA MONDIALE team will participate in the “Digital Swiss 5 Race Series”, a series of five events set up by the organizers of the Tour de Suisse and Velon on the ROUVY Indoor Cycling Reality platform. The races will take place with real video sequences of the routes that would have been used in the Tour de Suisse.

VINCENT LAVENU : “It allows the riders to have a small goal”

“The organizers have found modern alternatives that allow riders and the fans to enjoy a race situation, and that’s great. It allows the riders to have a small goal, even if it’s not the real competition. Looking at the number of people who watched the virtual Tour of Flanders, this also helps to give visibility to the teams and the riders.”VINCENT LAVENU

JEAN-BAPTISTE QUICLET : « A way to come together »

“Since the lockdowns began, we have been organizing weekly gatherings with the team’s riders on a virtual platform. This keeps you in touch with everyone. In fact, we will soon “virtually bring together” the whole AG2R LA MONDIALE family for a virtual ride with the professional riders, the members of the Chambéry Cyclisme Formation and the U19 riders. The Digital Swiss events will be short and intense, but the result is not the priority. We are showing our solidarity with the organizers and it was important to be at the start.”JEAN-BAPTISTE QUICLET

MATHIAS FRANK : « You have to expect difficult stages »

“I already tried out virtual cycling this winter, and I found it great when the weather does not allow you to train outside. So I am happy to participate in this event, even if it is not exactly the type of race we are used to doing. This will make it possible to catch up with friends in the peloton and put in some hard efforts. I know quite a few of the Swiss roads in real life and I think we will have to expect difficult stages. It will be nice to participate in this and a good way to gauge our level of fitness.”MATHIAS FRANK

THE NUMBER

2

Oliver Naesen, who will take part in the April 25th event, finished in second place in the virtual Tour of Flanders earlier this month.

Digital Swiss 5 Race Series (22-26 avril) - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Digital Swiss 5 Race Series (22-26 avril)

Du 22 au 26 avril, l’équipe AG2R LA MONDIALE participera au « Digital Swiss 5 Race Series », une série de cinq épreuves mises en place par les organisateurs du Tour de Suisse et Velon sur la plateforme ROUVY Indoor Cycling Reality. Les courses se dérouleront avec de vraies séquences vidéo des routes utilisées dans le Tour de Suisse.

VINCENT LAVENU : « Cela permet d’avoir un petit objectif »

« Des organisateurs ont trouvé des alternatives modernes qui permettent aux sportifs et aux passionnés d’avoir une activité et c’est très bien. Cela permet d’avoir un petit objectif, même si ce n’est pas la vraie compétition. De plus, vu l’audience réalisée par le Tour des Flandres virtuel, cela donne une visibilité aux équipes et aux coureurs. »VINCENT LAVENU

JEAN-BAPTISTE QUICLET : « Un moyen de se rassembler »

« Depuis le début du confinement, nous organisons des rassemblements hebdomadaires avec les coureurs de l’équipe sur une plateforme. Cela permet de garder le contact avec tout le monde. D’ailleurs, nous allons bientôt « rassembler » virtuellement l’ensemble de la filière AG2R LA MONDIALE pour une sortie avec les coureurs professionnels, ceux de Chambéry Cyclisme Formation et la U19. Les épreuves suisses seront courtes et intenses, mais le résultat n’est pas la priorité. Nous sommes solidaires des organisateurs et il était important d’être au départ. »JEAN-BAPTISTE QUICLET

MATHIAS FRANK : «Il faut s’attendre à des étapes difficiles »

« J’ai testé le « cyclisme virtuel » cet hiver, j’ai trouvé cela sympa lorsque le temps ne permet pas de s’entraîner dehors. Je suis content de participer à cette épreuve, même s’il ne s’agit pas d’une course comme nous en avons l’habitude. Cela permettra de retrouver les copains et de faire des efforts. Je connais pas mal de routes « dans la vraie vie » et je pense qu’il faut s’attendre à des étapes difficiles. Cela va être sympa de participer à cela et de jauger notre niveau de forme. » MATHIAS FRANK

LE CHIFFRE

2

Oliver Naesen qui participera à l'épreuve du 25 avril a terminé à la deuxième place du Tour des Flandres virtuel cette année.