Circuit de la Sarthe Overall victory for Alexis Gougeard! - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Circuit de la Sarthe Overall victory for Alexis Gougeard!


Alexis Gougeard : "I don’t want to stop there"

"As you might expect, the final circuit was very complicated! Despite that, I had a team of warriors with me, and the guys really managed the situation perfectly all day; everyone stayed together extremely well.
This is my second overall victory in a stage race (after winning the Tour de l’Eurométropole in 2015), but that's not what I will remember most. After a complicated year in 2018, I am again just enjoying being on the bike now. I am happy with this victory at the Circuit de la Sarthe, but I do not want to stop there! This Sunday, I'm going to be at the start of Paris-Roubaix. I love that race, I have great memories from there, and I'm going work as hard as possible for the team."ALEXIS GOUGEARD

THE NUMBER

3

With his overall win at the Circuit de la Sarthe, Alexis Gougeard chalks up the third victory for the AG2R LA MONDIALE team this season. Gougeard also just won in the third stage at la Sarthe. And then earlier in the season, Alexis Vuillermoz won the Royal Bernard Drôme Classic.

THE NEWS

43,3 km of pavé

Sixty kilometers and seven sectors paved between Cysoing and Hem were on the program for the day of the ALM team racing at Paris-Roubaix. Over the past two days, our riders have pre-ridden 23 sectors, and 43.3 kilometers of cobbles.

Circuit de la Sarthe Victoire finale d'Alexis Gougeard ! - Equipe cycliste AG2R La Mondiale

Circuit de la Sarthe Victoire finale d’Alexis Gougeard !

 »

Alexis Gougeard : "Je ne veux pas m'arrêter là"

"Comme on pouvait s’y attendre, le circuit final était compliqué ! Malgré cela, j’avais une équipe de guerriers avec moi.
Les gars ont parfaitement géré toute la journée, tout le monde est resté solidaire. C’est ma deuxième victoire sur une course par étapes (après le Tour de l’Eurométropole en 2015), mais ce n’est pas ce que je retiens. Après une année 2018 compliquée, je prends à nouveau du plaisir sur le vélo. Je suis heureux de cette victoire au Circuit de la Sarthe, mais je n’ai pas envie de m’arrêter là. Dimanche, je vais être au départ de Paris-Roubaix. J’adore cette course, j’ai des bons souvenirs là-bas et je vais tout faire pour me mettre au service du groupe."ALEXIS GOUGEARD

LE CHIFFRE

3

Vainqueur du classement général du Circuit de la Sarthe, Alexis Gougeard a remporté la troisième victoire de l’équipe AG2R LA MONDIALE cette saison. Le Normand s’était également imposé lors de la troisième étape. Avant lui, Alexis Vuillermoz avait remporté la Royal Bernard Drôme Classic.

L'INFO

43,3km de pavés

Soixante kilomètres et sept secteurs pavés entre Cysoing et Hem étaient au programme du jour de l’équipe engagée sur Paris-Roubaix. En deux journées, nos coureurs ont reconnu 23 secteurs soit 43,3 km de pavés.